New Releases: August 4

This is one of the stronger weeks for new music that I’ve seen.  I’ll personally get the Modest Mouse EP – which has been released prior to this in a series of limited 7-inch singles, the Yim Yames EP (which, if you don’t know, is a thinly veiled penname for the lead singer of My Morning Jacket) and the Julian Plenti album.  I already have the Japandroids disc, which is excellent, but I believe this week it finally sees its physical release on the band’s new label.

And, a very happy 30th birthday to my friend Brian.  I’ll be down to celebrate soon.

Have a happy week of listening.  Like we always do, there are a couple tracks to whet your collective whistles after the list.

Modest Mouse – No One’s First and You’re Next
Japandroids – Post-Nothing
Yim Yames – Tribute To
Julian Plenti – …Is Skyscraper
Medeski, Martin & Wood – Radiolarians III
Catie Curtis – Hello Stranger
Antony and The Johnsons – Aeon (Single)
Fruit Bats – Ruminant Band
Throw Me the Statue – Creaturesque

[Have we missed something you were looking forward to? Amazon has a more complete list.]

Modest Mouse – Perpetual Motion Machine (mp3) from the forthcoming No One’s First and You’re Next

Yim Yames – My Sweet Lord (mp3) from the forthcoming Tribute To

Japandroids – Wet Hair (mp3) from Post-Nothing

2 responses to “New Releases: August 4

  1. This George Harrison cover is clever, very simple and strong. I wish I had known of it when I was compiling this:

    hey yo, hey yo, hey yo, hey yo

    Great Blog.

  2. toomuchidiotwind

    Just stumbled on your blog looking for a track from the new Modest Mouse ep. Looking forward to checking out your lists. If you have time or interest check me out at toomuchidiotwind sometime! Cheers.

Leave a comment