1000 Minutes: Dave #31

I was set on doing an all Tokyo Police Club 1K today, but then I came across something that was most worthy of mentioning. So I’ll explain that in a minute. Onward.

62. Tokyo Police Club – Nature Of The Experiment (mp3) from A Lesson In Crime EP (2:01) [Time Remaining: 750:26]

63. Tokyo Police Club – Nature of the Experiment (RAC Mix) (mp3) from RAC Volume 1 (2:12) [Time Remaining: 748:14]

Dave Monks has a way with words. One of the preeminent lyricists in my opinion in fact. He has a way of talking about something and getting his point across fluidly without clubbing you over the head with its meaning. I love that. This song is off one of the band’s early EP’s, demonstrating their prowess in garage rock/post-punk and shaming other debuts handily. I have many a song from this young band that already deserves a place in my 1K, but today I’ve chosen to add what is very possibly my favorite TPC track along with its equal value in remix.

64. Dappled Cities – Fire Fire Fire (mp3) from Granddance (3:48) [Time Remaining: 744:26]

I hadn’t planned on including this particular song on this week as I mentioned previously. It would assuredly make it onto the list at some point, but I had visions of an all TPC post to glorify them as one of my favorite bands. Then I came across this. If you check out the zip archives section of this particular page you will see the ability to download the entire album from whence this song came, not to mention and additional zip comprised of three additional songs. Not bonus disc, bonus zip. Though all of this could be considered a bonus I think.

I already own the album, almost solely because of first hearing Fire (x3). It is very catchy and impeccably done, and I think you should not be disappointed if you haven’t ever heard of the band. They are from Australia but it isn’t their fault. So give them a chance. I’ve given you the chance to do just that.

Leave a Reply

