1000 Minutes: Andy #24

Vacation – at least the portion that consists of me being away from my computer – is over.  I’m also off of work today in order to catch up on a few things I haven’t had a chance to get done – reregistering my car, for example – but I’ll be back to the workplace tomorrow.

This morning finds me rehashing my trip, taking tags off of the stuff we bought (since it will obviously be unable to be returned), uploading photos, unpacking and doing laundry.

Here are a couple of tracks that came up over the course of the trip that forced me – because of their special place – to play them again.

(On a complete side note, does anyone else who watches Entourage think that E’s new love interest is far below what he should pull?  After Sloan, this Ashley character leaves much to be desired.)

49. Iron & Wine – Naked As We Came (mp3) from Our Endless Numbered Days (2:33) [Time Remaining: 745:58]

Scene: A Saturday morning in the middle of spring.  Light shines in through the window curtains.  A couple in bed, lying on their sides, facing each other.

There’s not much to say for me about this one.  Despite the quasi-morbid vision of having your lover die inside your arms, “Naked As We Came” is just an absolutely fantastic song.

50. The Format – Sore Thumb (mp3) from Interventions & Lullabies (3:19) [Time Remaining: 742:39]

Band break-ups have little to no affect on me.  Creativity isn’t a static endeavor, to be certain, and I don’t have any personal connection to any bands that would make a particular dissolution upsetting.  With that said, The Format’s end was a surprise.  They seemed to be musicians that were talented, and they were upbeat enough to give the impression that they had fun playing.  It was, as we all know, not to be.

From their first album – 2003’s Interventions & Lullabies – “Sore Thumb” was a personal standout.  The subject matter was much more dark, and in 2003/2004, when my relationships were much less stable than they currently are, it felt applicable.  Even now, I like to joke with my girlfriend that the line “please just leave, well you don’t mean that much to me” is about her.  Luckily, she doesn’t take me seriously.

3 responses to “1000 Minutes: Andy #24

  1. re. side note. ok, the non sequitur made me laugh. yep, have to agree that I’m not sure why he’s with that child actress – I think the producers have gone mad. maybe the actor hated being cast next to women taller than him?

  2. she isn’t even a very good actress and she looks like a 9 year old alien on meth.

  3. I haven’t watched the current season nor the prior one, but based on your descriptions this sounds precisely what Eric could pull. There is no way in hell he could ever pick up Sloan were it not this being a fictional show.

Leave a Reply

