The (2 Weeks Late) Obligatory Michael Jackson Post

Can you believe it’s been over two weeks since Michael Jackson’s death?  The media cycle has been so pervasive that it’s nearly impossible to NOT hear about him at every turn.

I don’t have any specific thoughts on Michael – either as an artist or as a person.  As a human being he was polarizing, but his artistry is universally beloved.  And that dichotomy is fascinating to me.  Any scrutiny he brought upon himself didn’t diminish people’s love for his art – and in an age where celebrity is so highly regarded and reported on – that unshakable love proves exactly how talented he was.

I hope the circus that has become the aftermath of his death dies out soon so that this infinitely talented but obviously troubled individual can finally rest in peace.

Everyone has a favorite Michael Jackson song – with The Jackson 5 or on his own.  Here are mine, with a new remix that I’ve been enjoying (and everyone on Hype Machine as well) thrown in for good measure:

Michael Jackson – P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing) (mp3) from Thriller

Michael Jackson – Rock With You (mp3) from Off the Wall

Michael Jackson + Telepopmusik – Remember the Time (Sleeper Heartbroken Remix) (mp3)

4 responses to “The (2 Weeks Late) Obligatory Michael Jackson Post

  1. HOW DARE YOU DIS M.J. …HIS BASKETBALL PROWESS WAS BEYOND REPROACH. HE AND HE ALONE BROUGHT THE CHICAGO BULLS TO THE ACME OF…….WHAT? THIS WASN’T MIKE JORDAN……NEVER MIND.

  2. My dad and his once yearly internet use, all to make jokes on my blog.

  3. I had to go back and look at the post, because I didn’t think that I referred to him as MJ. And no, I didn’t.

    I thought briefly about marking the comment as spam, but then your dad wouldn’t be able to show his friends how funny he is.

    Should I edit his comment to spell “Michael Jordan” correctly for him?

  4. Smooth Criminal. Love that song. Makes me want to put on a trilby and twirl around a lot.

    Though that might just be the medication kicking in…

Leave a Reply

