Music of the Female Persuasion

Recently I’ve taken part in several various and completely random conversations concerning bands and music with female vocalists. For one reason or another the people I’ve had this conversation with listen to a majority of music with male vocalists. While its likely true the lion’s portion of music I consume has male lead singers I would by no means say I have a proclivity to the practice. Without going through my music collection to determine proper proportions I’ll just say I like music for music, not who is making it (though to be honest I find Anya Marina’s voice to be awful). To prove my point here are two songs I’m liking lately that want nothing to do with male vocal stylings.

School Of Seven Bells – Half Asleep (mp3) from Alpinisms

Company Of Thieves – Oscar Wilde (mp3) from Ordinary Riches

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

Leave a Reply

