Lou Barlow

Yesterday morning I awoke with a song in my head. Neither could I recall the song itself, nor why it’s chorus was lingering in my early morning brain waves. I racked my thoughts, singing the mystery song and trying to progress it past a repeating chorus line all the while hastily inserting my contacts. Once able to see I worked my way downstairs to determine just what the hell my brain wanted me to find. I searched music titles and playlists until finally I just remembered. My recollection was correct and I found iTunes shuffle had played the song a day prior.

Many may know Lou Barlow’s music from his involvement in Indie staples such as Dinosaur Jr. and Sebadoh, as well as Folk Implosion. I’ve had this particular song I woke to for about two years and it’s the only I have from him as a solo effort. I have listened to it a fair amount but for some reason I couldn’t place it.

After locating the tune I listened to it along with Local Natives several times apiece yesterday. I chose to play the songs directly from the recently played folder while both were at the bottom of the list. Because I listened to one after the other and the two were the last songs in the recently played list, iTunes continually moved the most recently played song just above the last. Thus each song rotated back and forth between the last two spots while being played. I must have listened to the combination of both songs five times in a row at one point in the day. Theoretically it could have gone on endlessly.

Since we already gave you the Local Natives song here is Barlow’s.

Lou Barlow – Yawning Blue Messiah (mp3) from Mirror the Eye EP

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

Leave a Reply

