Great Lake Swimmers

The band Great Lake Swimmers swam into my consciousness with their beautiful song ‘Your Rocky Spine’. The funny thing about my exposure to the band is that I’d had the song on my computer for a long time without having giving it proper consideration. Sometimes when busy I download songs and move them into a specific folder so that I will give them the necessary attention they deserve at a later time. Oftentimes I listen to the songs quickly and decide whether or not I like it. Other times I may lose track of songs and not actually give proper chances. In the case of ‘Your Rocky Spine’ I can’t explain how it was overlooked. I hadn’t listened to it more than once until last year some time when I recognized the song being used in an episode of ‘Weeds.’ Sure enough I found the song on my computer with the play count at one. What’s also odd is that I remembered exactly when I had downloaded it. I had owned the song for almost two years before giving it proper due and now I would have rank it very high on a list of favorite songs.

The band will release a new album ‘Lost Channels’ due to be released March 31st, 2009. The first single is the song ‘Pulling On A Line.’

Great Lake Swimmers – Your Rocky Spine(mp3) from Ongiara

Great Lake Swimmers – Pulling On A Line (mp3) from the forthcoming Lost Channels

2 responses to “Great Lake Swimmers

  1. Awesome song, awesome Canadian band! I saw them live a year ago, really great performance. I recommend their song “Various Stages”. It’s dreamy and wonderful.

  2. Great band. I also discovered them through My Rocky Spine, I instantly fell in love with it. The new single is looking pretty solid.

Leave a Reply

