Camera Obscura

Each time I visit my favorite local record store I see Camera Obscura’s third album Let’s Get Out of This Country on the shelf and hesitate. What normally transpires in the store is that I see the album on the shelves after I already have three or four other things in my hand. I usually end up leaving with those original items because I specifically entered the store with them in mind. The record has piqued my interest for quite some time because it was released back in 2006 and I’ve had the chance to listen to stellar tracks from it. Being as frugal as I am I’ve not been enticed to take the plunge and get the record, likely because I have those several songs already on my computer.

The band derives their name from an optical device that was a precursor to modern photography. How a camera obscura operates is it takes in images through a pin hole and then reproduces those images on an opposite surface both upside down and in-color. The correlation between this information and their music is nonexistent as far as I can tell.

The song ‘Lloyd, I’m Ready to be Heartbroken,’ was my first exposure to the band and the main reason I consider picking up the album each visit to the store. The title of the song is actually a response to ‘Are You Ready To Be Heartbroken?’ from Lloyd Cole and The Commotions.

I’ve interspersed ‘Lloyd, I’m Ready To Be Heartbroken’ on a few of my party playlists as well as a mixed cd here or there but I’ve never registered if others enjoy it as much as I do. Get the song below along with the brand new title track from the band’s forthcoming album My Maudlin Career.

Camera Obscura – Lloyd, I’m Ready To Be Heartbroken (mp3) from Let’s Get Out of This Country

Camera Obscura – My Maudlin Career (mp3) from the forthcoming album of the same name.

2 responses to “Camera Obscura

  1. your 3 for 3 with these first 3 post on par with groups I luuuuuv

  2. the rest of the album is great. you should get it- especially the title track

Leave a Reply

